EPSA 2013

EPSA 2013 Final Event and Award Ceremony

The EPSA 2013 rewarded the best, most innovative and efficient good practices on the occasion of a three-day high-level Final Event that was held in Maastricht, the Netherlands, from 25 to 27 November 2013. Over 160 guests from more than 20 European countries participated in the range of EPSA 2013 events held in Maastricht on 25-27 November 2013.

  EPSA 2013 Final Event and Award Ceremony programme

On Monday morning, 25 November 2013, the ESF workshop about supporting administrative capacity building in the European Union took place at the European Institute of Public Administration (EIPA) in Maastricht. This workshop was convened by the ESF Legislation and Policy, Financial Engineering Unit, DG Employment, Social Affairs and Inclusion, European Commission.

In the evening, the 32 Best Practice Certificates (excluding the 15 nominees) were handed over at the Maastricht Town Hall in the presence of the Deputy Mayor, Mr. Jacques Costongs, of Maastricht and EIPA's Director-General, Prof. Marga Pröhl.

On Tuesday 26 November, the second day started in a plenary session at EIPA.

Opening speech, László Andor (HU), European Commissioner for Employment, Social Affairs and Inclusion, Brussels

Public sector innovation on the practice front: official presentation of the book 'In Search of Local Public Management Excellence: Seven Journeys to Success', Andoni Aldekoa (ES), CEO, Bilbao City Council, accompanied by the authors Alexander Heichlinger (AT), Prof. Jan Ole Vanebo (NO), Prof. Emanuele Padovani (IT)and Julia Bosse (DE)  Presentation 1  Presentation 2

The EPSA 2013: key facts, figures and features, Alexander Heichlinger (AT)

Subsequently, the 15 Nominees (5 per administrative category) presented their respective projects in parallel workshops. A festive dinner took place at an emblematic location of the City of Maastricht, The Bonnefantem Museum.

Presentations European and National Category, Presentations Regional Category, Presentations Supra-local and Local Category

On Wednesday 27 November, the 3 EPSA 2013 trophies and 2 honourable mentions, one for cross-border cooperation, and one for cross-administrative cooperation, were awarded to the winners at the Provincial Government Buildings on the Meuse, in the room where the Treaty of Maastricht was signed. This last morning of the event was opened by Governor and King's Commissioner Boven.


EPSA 2013 trophies and honourable mentions

The whole Final event was co-financed by the European Commission, the City of Maastricht and the Province of Limburg, as well as sponsored by the 10 official European partner countries.